T20 World Cup 2024: Schedule, Venue, Team List, Host Country & More

The ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is scheduled to begin on June 1 (June 2 as per Indian time). Despite this, many questions remain about the tournament.

This is also because many things are happening for the first time, which is making the T20 World Cup, which is usually held between 10 to 12 teams, more complicated than before.

The T20 World Cup is being played among 20 teams. This will be the first time that 20 teams will play in the T20 World Cup.

What’s New in T20 World Cup 2024

This is the first time that 16+ teams will play in the tournament. This tournament has been played 8 times so far, in which 4 teams participated in the first one. In the next 4 editions, 16 teams participated.

This year a total of 20 teams are participating in the tournament. Out of these 20 teams, 11 are full member countries and 9 are associate countries.

Only for the second time, 2 countries are hosting. The responsibility of hosting has been given to the West Indies and America. Out of the 55-match tournament, 16 will be held in America.

The remaining 39 will be played in the West Indies. America has got the hosting of an ICC tournament for the first time.

For the first time, the stop-clock rule will be used in an ICC tournament. After the end of an over, the next over should start within 60 seconds.

If this does not happen, the umpire will give two warnings to the bowling team. A penalty of five runs will be imposed for the third violation.

T20 World Cup 2024: Schedule, Venue, Team List, Host Country & More

What will be the Format of the T20 World Cup 2024?

Due to 20 teams, there will be 55 matches instead of 45 in this World Cup. 20 teams will be divided into four groups of 5 each. Group B has three associate teams and the other three groups have 2 associate teams each.

After the round-robin matches in each group, the top 2 teams of the group will qualify for Super-8. Super-8 will be divided into two groups.

In this, all the teams will face each other. The top 2 teams of both groups will play in the semi-finals. The title match will be played on June 29 between the winning teams of the semi-finals.

How did the New Teams Qualify for the World Cup 2024?

America and the Windies are playing as hosts. The top-8 teams of the last World Cup, Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, Africa, and Sri Lanka qualified directly.

Afghanistan-Bangladesh qualified on the basis of top-10 ranking. Ireland-Scotland qualified by becoming the winner of the Europe Qualifier, Papua New Guinea (PNG) qualified by becoming the winner of the East Pacific Qualifier, and Canada qualified by becoming the winner of the America Qualifier.

Top-2 teams from Asia Qualifier Nepal-Oman and Namibia and Uganda have reached through Africa Qualifier.

Which Teams are Playing for the First Time in T20 World Cup 2024?

In this T20 World Cup, a total of three teams including America, Uganda, and Canada are participating in the ICC World Cup for the first time. The interesting thing is that the world’s first international match was played between America and Canada in 1844.

Despite this, after 5,260 international T20 matches, America and Canada are participating in an ICC World Cup for the first time. Apart from this, there are four teams for whom this will be the second T20 World Cup. These teams are – Nepal, Oman, PNG and Namibia.

T20 World Cup 2024: Schedule, Venue, Team List, Host Country & More

T20 World Cup 2024 Team List

S. NoName of Teams Played in T 20 World Cup 2024
5.United States
9.South Africa
10.Sri Lanka
11.New Zealand
14.West Indies
16.Papua New Guinea

T20 World Cup 2024 India Squad

India will play 4 matches in the group stage. Their timing is from 8 pm Indian time. This has been done for the convenience of Indian fans. This is probably the first time that a country has been given priority in the timing of a World Cup match.

If India reaches the semi-finals, it will play the second semi-final (27 June), because this match will start at 8 pm Indian time, which is convenient for the Indian audience. The first semi-final will start at 6 am Indian time.

There is no reserve day in the second semi-final. Due to this, there will be 250 minutes of extra time in Semi-final 2. Semi-final-1 has 190 minutes of additional time apart from the reserve day.

S. NoMatchesVenueTiming
1.India Vs IrelandNew York, USA9 June, 8 PM
2.India Vs Pakistan5 June, 8 PM12 June, 8 PM
3.India Vs AmericaNew York, USA15 June, 8 PM
4.India Vs CanadaLauderhill, USA15 June, 8PM

T20 World Cup 2024 Schedule, Venue, Time

S. NoMatchesVenueTiming
1.America Vs CanadaDallas, USA15 June, 10:30 AM
2.West Indies Vs PNGGuyana2 June, 6 AM
3.Namibia Vs OmanBarbados2 June, 8 PM
4.Sri Lanka Vs South AfricaNew York3 June, 6 AM
5.Afghanistan Vs UgandaGuyana3 June, 8 PM
6.England Vs ScotlandBarbados4 June, 8PM
7.Netherlands Vs NepalDallas4 June, 8 PM
8.India Vs IrelandNew York4 June, 9 PM
9.PNG Vs UgandaGuyana5 June, 8 PM
10.Australia Vs OmanBarbados6 June, 5 AM
11.America Vs PakistanDallas6 June, 6 AM
12.Namibia Vs ScotlandBarbados7 June, 12:30 AM
13.Canada Vs IrelandNew York6 June, 9 PM
14.Afghanistan Vs New ZealandGuyana7 June, 8 PM
15.Bangladesh Vs Sri LankaDallas8 June, 6 AM
16.8 June, 5 AMNew York8 June, 8 PM
17.Australia Vs EnglandBarbados8 June, 10:30 PM
18.West Indies Vs UgandaGuyana9 June, 6 AM
19.India Vs PakistanNew York9 June, 8 PM
20.Oman Vs ScotlandAntigua9 June, 10:30 PM
21.Bangladesh Vs South AfricaNew York10 June, 8 PM
22.Canada Vs PakistanNew York11 June, 8 PM
23.Nepal Vs Sri LankaLauderhill12 June, 5 AM
24.Australia Vs NamibiaAntigua12 June, 6 AM
25.America Vs IndiaNew York12 June, 8 PM
26.West Indies Vs New ZealandTrinidad13 June, 6 AM
27.Bangladesh Vs IrelandAntigua13 June, 8 PM
28.England Vs OmanSt Vincent14 June, 10:30AM
29.Afghanistan Vs PNGTrinidad14 June, 6 AM
30.America Vs IrelandLauderhill14 June, 8 PM
31.Nepal Vs South AfricaSt. Vincent15 June, 5 AM
32.New Zealand Vs UgandaTrinidad15 June, 6 AM
33.Canada Vs IndiaLauderhill15 June, 8 PM
34.England Vs NamibiaAntigua15 June, 10:30AM
35.Australia Vs ScotlandSt Lucia16 June, 6 AM
36.Ireland Vs PakistanLauderhill16 June, 8 PM
37.Bangladesh Vs NepalSt. Vincent17 June, 5 AM
38.Netherlands Vs Sri LankaSt Lucia17 June, 6 AM
39.New Zealand Vs PNGTrinidad17 June, 8 PM
40.West Indies Vs AfghanistanSt Lucia18 June, 6 AM

The first semi-final will be played on 27 June 2024, 6 AM at the Tarouba, and the second semi-final will be played on 27 June 2024, 8 PM at the Guyana.

The ICC World Cup 2024 final will be played on 29 June 2024, at 8 PM in Barbados.

FAQ About ICC T20 World Cup 2024

Q. What are the new rules for the 2024 T20 World Cup?

Ans. The stop-clock rule will be used in an ICC T20 World 2024.

Q. Who will host the T20 World Cup 2024?

Ans. America and West Indies.

Q. Which is the first match of the T20 World Cup 2024?

Ans. America Vs Canada at Dallas, USA.

Q. How many groups are in the T20 World Cup 2024?

Ans. 4 Groups in World Cup.

Q. What is the format of ICC T20 World Cup 2024?

Ans. Read Above.

Q. How many teams are in the ICC men’s T20 World Cup 2024?

Ans. 20 Teams.

Q. Who is in the squad of India in 2024 T20 World Cup team?

Ans. Ireland, Pakistan, America, Canada.

Q. Is there any opening ceremony for the T20 World Cup 2024?

Ans. Updating Soon.

By Target Study

Makes your study easy, We provide Notes for study, Education, Syllabus, guidance, and all government schemes updates, Health, trending news & More.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *